NBA MVP Announcement


The NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is one of the most prestigious individual accolades in basketball. Each season, a select few players separate themselves from the rest of the pack, demonstrating superior performance, leadership, and helping their teams be succeful.

The NBA MVP is awarded to the player who is deemed to have had the most significant impact on his team´s success during the regular season.

In this article, we will take a closer look at the NBA MVP award and what it means for the league and its players. We´ll examine the history of the award, its selection process, and some of the most memorable MVP winners in NBA history.

What is the NBA MVP Award?

The NBA MVP award is an annual recognition given to the best player in the league during the regular season. The award has been presented since the 1955-1956 season and is determined by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

Selection Process for NBA MVP Award

The NBA MVP award is selected through a process of voting by a panel of 100 sports writers and broadcasters, who are chosen by the NBA. The voting process takes place at the end of the regular season, and each voter is allowed to select their top five candidates for the award, awarding points to each player based on their rankings. The player with the most points at the end of the voting process is declared the NBA MVP.

Memorable NBA MVP Winners

Throughout the years, many NBA players have been awarded the MVP title, but some stand out more than others. Some of the most memorable MVP winners include Michael Jordan, who won the award five times in his career, Wilt Chamberlain, who won four times, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who won the award a record six times, and Steph Curry who is the only unanimous MVP ever, meaning that every single voter voted him as their 1st pick for MVP. 

FAQs about NBA MVP Award

Can a player win the NBA MVP award and not make the playoffs?

It is possible, but it is rare for a player to win the NBA MVP award if his team does not make the playoffs. The award is often seen as an accolade for a player´s contribution to his team´s success during the regular season.

Can a player win the NBA MVP award more than once?

Yes, many players have won the NBA MVP award multiple times throughout their careers. Michael Jordan, for example, won the award five times, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won the award six times.

Has a rookie ever won the NBA MVP award?

No, a rookie has never won the NBA MVP award. However, the NBA has a  Rookie of the Year award, which is given to the best first-year player in the league.


The NBA MVP award is the most prestigious individual award in basketball, recognizing the league´s best player during the regular season. It is a recognition of superior performance, leadership, and team success, and a coveted accolade by players across the league.

The NBA MVP award has a rich history, and the list of its winners includes some of the most iconic players in NBA history. The award is an indication of a player´s impact on his team´s success and serves as a benchmark for excellence in the league.